Writing is Magic

When I was young, I didn’t know what to say.   I had feelings I couldn’t express, thoughts that seemed unformed.

When I needed to connect, I retreated into books. Spent entire afternoons on the couch.  Transfixed by Scarlett’s vanity.  Heartbroken when Rhett walked out.  Pulled into a world where words brought everything to life.

Eventually, I learned to speak more confidently.  I talked my mom’s ear off on car trips.  Sure that I knew things of which she had never heard.  She encouraged me, even when she might have preferred some peaceful silence.

In high school, I began to write.  Sometimes the teacher would read my essays aloud and classmates would look at me differently.  How does she do that?

Writing is enchantment.  Writing is magic.  And I was hooked.

As a young adult I sent a few stories to magazines.  Sometimes writing through the night.  Eventually a form letter would come back. Or nothing.  It wasn’t what they were looking for.

In journals I explained myself to myself.  Let it all out.  And I talked to those closest to me.  But I longed for more expression.  More connection.

Then the internet arrived, and I could suddenly write a long letter to a friend, and she would have it instantly.  But who had time to answer letters in such a busy world?   Most preferred the telephone.

Then blogging came along.  I didn’t understand it.  Wasn’t it for sharing baby photos and family vacations?  Didn’t sound right for me.

Finally, on a long weekend, I gave it a try.  I wrote a short post about my Baha’i Faith and my troubling introversion, responding to a WordPress daily writing prompt.

In an instant, it was online for others to see.  I felt hopeful.  I received a few “likes” and comments and encouragement to write more.  I saw what others were writing about and wanted to follow them.

That day, the world became connected for me in a new way.  And I am hooked.

Author: Jen

I want to explore everything, from the mundane to the momentous, the playful to the profound. Nothing is insignificant and everything is related. I’m particularly fond of the mysteries contained in everyday life. Freelancing is my latest adventure, and I’d love for you to come along!

12 thoughts on “Writing is Magic”

    1. Thank you lovehappily! I see we use the same theme, Lovecraft. Only you seem to be using it better than me at the moment. I can’t find my widgets or my dashboard. But I’ve asked the Blogging 101 folks for help. Your blog looks great and I will explore further.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Great, thank you. Yes, I realized we use the same theme. Yours is beautiful as well. Good idea, because they will respond to you with lots of ideas on how to make it work for you. Yes, I will like to explore yours too. I can’t wait to read more of your content.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Great writing. Sounds like we are on similar paths. I didn’t understand the concept of blogging either. Now look at me. Great post. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for this post … I love your voice! Writing and reading have always been there for me as well. I honestly don’t know if I’d be here today without them! I look forward to reading more!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment